Saturday, July 16th

On July 16th, my life changed forever. We thought it was a regular day. Kelly left for a store meeting at 6:40. She was going to the meeting, to paint for a while, and then pack for Cross Camp. I got up, went to Ezell’s in Wisner. I called my mom and we talked about when we were leaving for camp, how many we were bringing and how great it would be. I got home and tried to start a new TV series. After about 15 minutes, Peyton Sparks knocked on my door. He told me we had to go and that Kelly had been in an accident. We got in his car, drove to Franklin Medical and waited to see what was going on. In a short while, I saw my wife being wheeled in on a stretcher. She looked at me and seemed to say with her eyes, “We’re ok. We’re going to be ok.” I had no idea what was going on. The doctor came out and told us that kelly had been shot. Words can’t describe how I felt. He told us that she was in critical condition and would be flown to Jackson. He told us that she was answering commands. I still had no idea what to say. They wheeled her by us to get her to the helicopter. I dropped when I saw her. I got in the car with Peyton and we drove to Jackson. The ride over felt like an eternity. My Pastor, Kevin Bates, rode with us as well. They did a fantastic job comforting me. We got to Jackson and heard words from doctors that I wasn’t ready to hear. The chance of survival was slim. I was devastated. My pastor pulled me aside and said, “She’s responding to commands, she looked at you in Winnsboro, do not take a death sentence.” I’m so appreciative of my pastor. The next few hours were full of questions. Myself, Lisa (Kelly’s Mom), and Shelby (Kelly’s Sister) had the chance to go look at her again. I couldn’t breathe. I immediately started asking God why. Why my wife? Why Kelly? What has she ever done to anyone? My heart was breaking. The transport team told us they were moving her to the 4th floor to the NSICU. They moved her and we came upstairs. Fear is terrible. Fear tries to grip you and doesn’t let go. Fear tries tells you how to feel. It will do what it wants to do but only if you let it. I got to go see her in the NSICU and there were no words I can say. My wife of thirteen months was fighting for her life. These things aren’t supposed to happen. I came back out and tried to lay down but my mind was racing. Around 3 in the morning I felt hopeless. I know this was an attack from the enemy. I was hearing things like, “You’ve lost her. She’s not coming back. She’s not going to make it.” In the midst of this, the Lord spoke. There’s a song called Great I Am. The bridge says,”The mountains shake before Him.The demons run and flee. At the mention of the name, King of Majesty. There is no power in hell or any who can stand before the power and the presence of the Great I am.” This is so true. When the Lord spoke, the thought stopped. The Lord showed me Philippians 1:6, And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ. I just felt like God was saying, “Look Shane, I have the last word. It’s not over until I say it’s over.” There was such a comfort in those words. Since Saturday night, I’ve known that we were going to be ok. The doctors were still saying that we were taking it day by day. The Lord had told me that the battle was already won. Since Saturday, Kelly has made huge improvements. She is following commands and doing what the doctors tell her to do. It is amazing to feel her squeeze my hand. It’s crazy how seeing her hold up 2 fingers makes me so happy. Today makes 6 days that we’ve been here. The doctors have asked how she is still alive, how she is following commands, how she’s responding to what they’re saying. My only answer is that we have a God that is not limited to our understanding. Kelly is a fighter and she has the strength of Christ in her. I’ve played the “what if” game and said if I was in the car it wouldn’t have happened. I don’t know that for sure. What I do know is that my wife wouldn’t have the testimony that she is going to have. Kelly is my hero.

58 thoughts on “Saturday, July 16th

  1. Sending prayers from Miramar Beach, Florida ( My hometown is Monroe, Louisiana ) Our Loving God is with you and your Beautiful wife!

  2. I’m a member of the Community Bible Study in Greenville, MS, where I believe it’s Kelky’s grandmother who is also a member. There are so many prayers being lifted up for everyone

  3. I heard through other people about your wife. Our church (in Arkansas) is praying for you! God has got this is His hands! It appears that so many people are praying and God hears them all!!!! Blessings!

  4. Hi Shane,

    I don’t know you or Kelly, but found your post shared by a friend of a friend. My heart breaks for you but I’m grateful you chose to share your story in such a way that’s introducing people to God. I’m praying for you, Kelly, and your family now that she makes a full recovery and that God comforts & strengthens you all during this time.

  5. I do not know you guys but came across his story via Facebook. I’ve been struggling lately and had decided to give up. I thought “what’s the point? Satan has won. I can’t fight anymore.” And then I read this testimony and did some back tracking to see what had happened. All I’m going through seems so petty and small now compared to the mountains you are facing. Thank you for sharing and showing me that my battles are not with giving up over bc it could be worse and I should be fighting. I am praying for your wife and your family.

  6. My prayers are with y’all. Our God is the Great Physician and He is still in control.
    It would be great if we could get updates on your wife’s recovery. 🙏🙏🙏

Leave a Reply

